Start 'N' Park Blog

Harvick Blisters The Brickyard For Pole


Kevin Harvick added to his Indianapolis Motor Speedway resume by setting a track record in Saturday’s qualifying to win the pole for Sunday’s Crown Royal 400. The 2003 pole and race winner got around the track at 47.647 seconds in the first round of qualifying.

“After the first lap I was probably more nervous than I have been in a while for qualifying. I wasn’t really expecting to have the car run that fast. From there they are all looking at you ‘alright if you screw this up it’s on you buddy’. It’s great to have fast cars they do a great job preparing the cars and just being able to come to the race track and know the cars are going to be fast takes a huge burden off of everybody’s shoulders just to get the balance right,” commented Harvick after qualifying.

Joining him on the front row is four time Indianapolis winner Jeff Gordon, with Brad Keselowski, Ryan Newman, and Brian Vickers rounding out the top-5 qualifiers. In fact, Chevrolet put nine drivers in the top-15 qualifiers.

“We didn’t have anything for Kevin (Harvick) today, but what an incredible Axalta Chevy SS that we have this weekend. I’m excited about that first and foremost,” Gordon recapped about his lap.

Juan Pablo Montoya, running his second race for Team Penske, qualified eighth. Traditionally this is a great track for the fast Columbian. ““I was disappointed in the last run. I didn’t push real hard the first two runs thinking there was probably more potential in the car. I think we have a really good race car, so from there we can do a lot,” said Montoya.

Three drivers failed to qualify for the event, they were Brett Moffitt, David Stremme, and Matt Crafton. Crafton, the defending Truck Series champion, was looking to make his Sprint Cup Series debut this weekend.

The Crown Royal 400 gets underway at 1 PM EST on Sunday and fans can catch the action on ESPN.

Pos # Driver Team Time
1 4 Kevin Harvick Jimmy John’s Chevrolet 47.753
2 24 Jeff Gordon Axalta Chevrolet 47.931
3 2 Brad Keselowski Miller Lite Ford 48.156
4 31 Ryan Newman Quicken Loans Chevrolet 48.189
5 55 Brian Vickers Aaron’s Dream Machine Toyota 48.269
6 14 Tony Stewart Mobil 1/Bass Pro Shops Chevrolet 48.337
7 41 Kurt Busch Haas Automation Chevrolet 48.402
8 12 Juan Pablo Montoya Penske Truck Rental Ford 48.407
9 22 Joey Logano Shell Pennzoil Ford 48.432
10 5 Kasey Kahne Time Warner Cable Chevrolet 48.464
11 48 Jimmie Johnson Lowe’s/Kobalt Tools Chevrolet 48.526
12 18 Kyle Busch Snickers Toyota 48.651
13 20 Matt Kenseth Dollar General Toyota 48.526
14 10 Danica Patrick GoDaddy Chevrolet 48.546
15 42 Kyle Larson Target Chevrolet 48.582
16 15 Clint Bowyer RK Motors Charlotte Toyota 48.615
17 3 Austin Dillon Dow/Mycogen Seeds Chevrolet 48.636
18 99 Carl Edwards Fastenal Ford 48.651
19 16 Greg Biffle 3M Safety Ford 48.675
20 21 Trevor Bayne Motorcraft/Quick Lane Tire & Auto Center Ford 48.683
21 17 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. EcoPower Oil Ford 48.717
22 9 Marcos Ambrose Stanley Ford 48.800
23 88 Dale Earnhardt Jr. National Guard Chevrolet 48.943
24 1 Jamie McMurray Cessna Chevrolet 49.017
25 78 Martin Truex Jr. Furniture Row Chevrolet 48.794
26 13 Casey Mears GEICO Chevrolet 48.986
27 11 Denny Hamlin FedEx Express Toyota 48.995
28 95 Michael McDowell K-Love Ford 49.029
29 27 Paul Menard Moen/Menards Chevrolet 49.036
30 98 Josh Wise Curb Records/Lee Brice Chevrolet 49.216
31 51 Justin Allgaier Collision Cure Body Werks Chevrolet 49.273
32 83 Ryan Truex Burger King Toyota 49.295
33 7 Michael Annett Pilot/Flying J Chevrolet 49.384
34 38 David Gilliland Love’s Travel Stops Ford 49.431
35 23 Alex Bowman Dr. Pepper Toyota 49.487
36 47 AJ Allmendinger Kingsford Charcoal Chevrolet 49.501
37 40 Landon Cassill Chevrolet Owner Points
38 34 David Ragan MDS Ford Owner Points
39 26 Cole Whitt Speed Stick Gear Toyota Owner Points
40 32 Travis Kvapil Ford Owner Points
41 43 Aric Almirola Eckrich Ford Owner Points
42 36 Reed Sorenson Zing Zang Chevrolet Owner Points
43 37 Bobby Labonte Accell Construction Chevrolet Past Champion
DNQ: #66 Brett Moffitt; #33 David Stremme; #29 Matt Crafton