Start 'N' Park Blog

Gordon Rekindles Old Road Warrior Style With Watkins Glen Pole


The winningest driver in NASCAR Sprint Cup Series history when it comes to road racing is finally back up front. Jeff Gordon laid down a lap of 68.126 seconds to capture his first pole of 2014, third at Watkins Glen International, and the 75th pole of his career. It also extends his streak of winning a pole in each of his 22 Sprint Cup season.

He has four career wins at Watkins Glen, but none since 2001. Earlier this year he did finish second to Carl Edwards at the road course in Sonoma, California.

“I am so proud of this pole, and the effort this Drive To End Hunger team put in this weekend, as well as that lap. Qualifying has really been what has been hurting us a Watkins Glen, and I blame myself really. I’m so happy that I got three shots at it today. I really think that made the big different. The first lap I did okay, but I got held up a little coming back to the checkered. The second one was a really good lap and got us into the top-12. I just tried to do the same things in that last lap,” Gordon commented after the completion of qualifying.

Joining Gordon on the front row will be Marcos Ambrose, who’s only two Sprint Cup wins have come at Watkins Glen. Jimmie Johnson, Kevin Harvick, and Kurt Busch round out the top-5 qualifiers.

Ambrose has been fast all weekend long will also race in Saturday’s Nationwide Series race. It is the fifth time in seven Watkins Glen starts that he will begin in the top-10.

“I am very proud of my RPM team and everyone. It has been a great weekend for us so far. We qualified fourth and second, so that is a pretty good start to the weekend. I wish Jeff was a little kinder to me to let me get the pole. I thought we had it at the end but it wasn’t enough. It was a pretty good lap though and I will take it. You have to be happy with front row starts

With only 43 entries for the Cheez-It 355 At The Glen there will be no drivers going home. Fans can catch the race on Sunday at 1 PM EST on ESPN.

Pos # Driver Team Time
1 24 Jeff Gordon Drive to End Hunger Chevrolet 68.126
2 9 Marcos Ambrose Stanley Ford 68.299
3 48 Jimmie Johnson Lowe’s Chevrolet 68.389
4 4 Kevin Harvick Budweiser Chevrolet 68.447
5 41 Kurt Busch Haas Automation Chevrolet 68.470
6 47 AJ Allmendinger Scott Products Chevrolet 68.531
7 88 Dale Earnhardt Jr. National Guard Chevrolet 68.806
8 20 Matt Kenseth Dollar General Toyota 68.810
9 2 Brad Keselowski Miller Lite Ford 68.878
10 31 Ryan Newman Caterpillar Chevrolet 68.978
11 22 Joey Logano Shell Pennzoil Ford 69.035
12 55 Brian Vickers Aaron’s Dream Machine Toyota 69.171
13 14 Tony Stewart Rush Truck Centers/Mobil 1 Chevrolet 68.796
14 1 Jamie McMurray McDonald’s Chevrolet 68.836
15 51 Justin Allgaier Brandt Professional Agriculture Chevrolet 68.892
16 99 Carl Edwards Kellogg’s/Cheez-It Ford 68.993
17 11 Denny Hamlin FedEx Ground Toyota 69.024
18 26 Cole Whitt Bully Hill Vineyards Toyota 69.060
19 18 Kyle Busch M&M’s Toyota 69.136
20 27 Paul Menard Splash/Menards Chevrolet 69.137
21 17 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Ford EcoBoost Ford 69.143
22 13 Casey Mears GEICO Chevrolet 69.273
23 42 Kyle Larson Target Chevrolet 69.280
24 15 Clint Bowyer RK Motors Charlotte Toyota 69.297
25 78 Martin Truex Jr. Furniture Row Chevrolet 69.315
26 34 David Ragan Dockside Logistics Ford 69.316
27 43 Aric Almirola Smithfield Ford 69.341
28 16 Greg Biffle 3M Ford 69.344
29 95 Michael McDowell K-Love Ford 69.352
30 5 Kasey Kahne Farmers Insurance Chevrolet 69.442
31 3 Austin Dillon Dow Chevrolet 69.548
32 77 Nelson Piquet Jr. WORX Ford 69.605
33 38 David Gilliland Long John Silver’s Ford 69.611
34 32 Boris Said Genny Light Ford 69.684
35 83 Ryan Truex Burger King Toyota 69.719
36 23 Alex Bowman Dustless Blasting Toyota 70.098
37 98 Josh Wise Phil Parsons Racing Chevrolet Owner Points
38 33 Alex Kennedy MediaCAST Chevrolet Owner Points
39 36 Reed Sorenson Chevrolet Owner Points
40 66 Joe Nemechek Land Castle Title Toyota Owner Points
41 40 Landon Cassill Newtown Building Supplies Chevrolet Owner Points
42 7 Michael Annett Pilot/Flying J Chevrolet Owner Points
43 10 Danica Patrick GoDaddy Chevrolet Owner Points
DNQ: None