AJ Allmendinger

usa United States
Full Name
Anthony James Allmendinger
Los Gatos, CA
Date of Birth
First Year
Last Year

AJ Allmendinger is a former American stock car racing driver. After a successful open wheel career that saw him earn five wins and third place overall in the 2006 Champ Car season, Allmendinger made the jump to NASCAR. He drove for Team Red Bull, Michael Waltrip Racing, Gillett Evernham Motorsports and Richard Petty Motorsports before signing with Team Penske in 2012.

During the 2012 season, Allmendinger was suspended by NASCAR after testing positive for Adderall. He was released from his ride with Penske, but after completing the Road to Recovery Program, was reinstated and ran with Phoenix Racing for four races at the end of the year. He stayed with Phoenix in 2013 in the Cup Series, running select races. At the same time he re-signed with Team Penske to run select IndyCar (finishing 7th in the Indianapolis 500) and Xfinity Series races (winning at Road America and Mid-Ohio).

When JTG-Daughtery Racing was ready to move on from driver Bobby Labonte, Allmendinger got the call to finish out the 2013 season and beyond with the team. The next year, Allmendinger picked up his lone career win at Watkins Glen International. He continued to drive the 47 Chevrolet until his release following the 2018 season.

In December 2018, it was announced he has signed with NBC Sports Group to provided commentary on both shows and race broadcasts starting in 2019.

 Other Accomplishments

  • 2002 Barber Pro Series Champion
  • 2003 Champ Car Atlantic Champion
  • 2004 Champ Car World Series Rookie of the Year
  • 2012 Rolex 24 at Daytona Winner
AJ Allmendinger News

Cup Series

SeasonTeamStartPoleWinTop-5Top-10DNFLaps CompLead Lap FinLaps LedRaces LedDNQWD
2006Team Red Bull000000000020
2007Team Red Bull17000025373311190
2008Multiple Teams27000257011129630
2009Richard Petty Motorsports360016110208180000
2010Richard Petty Motorsports36102831019626181500
2011Richard Petty Motorsports36001101103872451700
2012Multiple Teams21101335816799300
2013Multiple Teams18000124781130000
2014JTG Daugherty Racing3601254102801968500
2015JTG Daugherty Racing3620033100061855500
2016JTG Daugherty Racing3600294100182629500
2017JTG Daugherty Racing36001559941157300
2018JTG Daugherty Racing360015692141219600