Aric Almirola

usa United States
Full Name
Aric A Almirola
Tampa, FL
Date of Birth
First Year

Career Overview

Almirola’s first break was when he was signed to a developmental deal with Joe Gibbs Racing in 2004. He made one Cup Series start for Gibbs, but tensions over how a race in the Xfinity Series at Milwaukee was handled, Almirola walked away. Almirola started the race in place of Denny Hamlin who couldn’t make it to the race in time. Despite how good Almirola was doing, he was pulled in place of Hamlin, who went on to win the race. Since Almirola started, he was credited with the victory.

He signed with Dale Earnhardt Inc, running races in 2007 and was tapped as co-driver with Mark Martin in the team’s number 8 entry for the 2008 season. After DEI merged with Chip Ganassi Racing, Almirola stayed on as the full-time drive of the 8 car, but lack of sponsorship led to the closing of the team.

Bouncing around between teams and series, Almirola finally landed with Richard Petty Motorsports in 2012 for a six year run driving for The King of stock car racing. Rain assisted the team in winning the 2014 Coke Zero 400 at the Daytona International Speedway. An injured back mid-way through the 2017 season allowed RPM to test out different drivers and was a final nail the coffin to the relationship between the two.

Taking his Smithfield Foods sponsorship with him, Almirola signed on to replace Danica Patrick at Stewart-Haas Racing for the 2018 season and beyond.

Teams Driven For

  • Joe Gibbs Racing 2007
  • Dale Earnhardt Inc 2007-2008
  • Chip Ganassi Racing 2009
  • Phoenix Racing 2009-2010
  • Tommy Baldwin Racing 2010
  • Richard Petty Motorsports 2010, 2012-2017
  • Stewart-Haas Racing 2018-Present


  • Career start 1 – 2007 race 3 Las Vegas
  • Career start 100 – 2013 race 29 Dover
  • Career start 200 – 2016 race 21 Pocono
  • Career pole 1 – 2012 race 12 Charlotte
  • Career win 1 – 2014 race 18 Daytona

Cup Series

SeasonTeamStartPoleWinTop-5Top-10DNFLaps CompLead Lap FinLaps LedRaces LedDNQWD
2007Multiple Teams600003135700000
2008Dale Earnhardt Inc12000113562656200
2009Multiple Teams800002247310010
2010Multiple Teams900114175632140
2012Richard Petty Motorsports3610143100451578400
2013Richard Petty Motorsports3600164101402411400
2014Richard Petty Motorsports360127697592223500
2015Richard Petty Motorsports36003629992243100
2016Richard Petty Motorsports36000169747151100
2017Richard Petty Motorsports29003638509192100
2018Stewart-Haas Racing15000614435101100