Austin Dillon

usa United States
Full Name
Austin Dillon
Lewisville, NC
Date of Birth
First Year

Career Overview

Grandson of legendary car owner Richard Childress, Austin Dillon began his career running Bandolero Mini Cars when he was 15 years old. He graduated to the K&N Pro Series East in 2008, winning Rookie of the Year. That performance opened the door for him to jump to the Truck Series for a few races in 2009 for Richard Childress Racing.

Dillon ran the full schedule in 2010, picking up Rookie of the Year honors and finishing fifth in the final standings. Coming back the next year, Dillon won twice on his way to the 2011 title.

Taking the momentum he built winning the Truck title, Dillon moved up to the Xfinity Series in 2012. There he once again won Rookie of the Year and placed third in the final standings. The next year he was able to win the title, despite not winning a race that year.

That set forth the ground work for Dillon to move up to the Cup Series full-time in 2014, after making his debut in 2011 and running an occasional race. Dillon was missed out on top rookie honors in his fist Cup season, but did place an impressive 20th in the final standings.

Wins eluded Dillon, but in 2017 he was able to capture his first win in the longest event of the season, the Coca-Cola 600. Following up that big win, Dillon captured the 2018 Daytona 500, an impressive one-two win performance.

Teams Driven For


  • Career start 1 – 2011 race 30 Kanas
  • Career start 100 – 2016 race 15 Michigan
  • Career pole 1 – 2014 race 1 Daytona
  • Career win 1 – 2017 race 12 Charlotte


  • 2014 Daytona 500 pole winner
  • 2017 Coca-Cola 600 winner
  • 2018 Daytona 500 winner

 Other Accomplishments

  • 2008 K&N Pro Series East Rookie of the Year
  • 2010 Truck Series Rookie of the Year
  • 2011 Truck Series Champion
  • 2011 Truck Series Most Popular Driver
  • 2012 Xfinity Series Rookie of the Year
  • 2013 Xfinity Series Champion

Cup Series

SeasonTeamStartPoleWinTop-5Top-10DNFLaps CompLead Lap FinLaps LedRaces LedDNQWD
2011Curb Racing10000027000000
2012Richard Childress Racing10000019800000
2013Multiple Teams1100001282930000
2014Richard Childress Racing3610140104882310400
2015Richard Childress Racing360015399732039500
2016Richard Childress Racing36204133102762617800
2017Richard Childress Racing3601345101462112400
2018Richard Childress Racing1501122447355200