Bill Elliott

usa United States
Full Name
William Clyde Elliott
Dawsonville, GA
Date of Birth
First Year
Last Year

Career Overview

From Dawsonville, Georgia to the high banks of the Daytona International Speedway was not a quick path to success for Bill Elliott. Running mostly for his father, George, the younger Elliott showed talent, but the team was just missing the pieces to get him into victory lane.

After sponsoring the Elliott team for two years, Harry Melling purchased the team late in 1981. With the help of his first win in 1983, the Coors brewing company joined the Melling team in 1984 for what would be a very successful pairing. The highlights being the 1985 season when Elliott won 11 poles and 11 races in 28 starts, captured the Daytona 500 and Southern 500, along with the first Winston Million challenge. Despite all of that, he came up just short to Darrell Waltrip in the point standings.

Elliott would finally get his championship in 1988, outlasting Dale Earnhardt and Rusty Wallace for the title. A broken wrist made for a slow start in 1989, a tragic pit road accident that resulted in a crewman killed marred the 1990 season. Entering the 1991 season, it was apparent to all on the team that the chemistry was fading and it would be time to go in different directions.

That direction for 1992 was joining the legendary Junior Johnson. The pair won four out of the first five races they ran together, but in the end he would finish second to Alan Kulwicki that year. Engine issues late in the year and poor pit road strategy led to the firing of Tim Brewer as his crew chief and the remaining two years with Johnson’s team were a struggle to say the least.

Despite capturing the Southern 500 in 1994, Elliott left the Johnson team in favor of running his own team, Bill Elliott Racing. At different times the team showed promise, but they could never quite seal the deal. Injuries also impacted Elliott as he missed races in 1996 and 1998. After the 2000 season, Elliott sold his team and joined Ray Evernham’s new Dodge team.

Running for Evernham revived Elliott’s career as he picked up three wins in the three seasons together, including winning at Indianapolis.  After the 2003 season, Elliott dropped to part-time competition, while his seat in the number 9 ride was taken by Kasey Kahne.

Most notable of his final years was running for the Wood Brothers in the famous 21 car. Everywhere else was random efforts that low budget teams used him for his past champions provisional. After 2012, Elliott hung up his helmet for good to focus on mentoring his son, Chase Elliott’s rise up to the Cup Series.

Teams Driven For


  • Career start 1 – 1976 race 3 Rockingham
  • Career start 100 – 1983 race 14 Pocono
  • Career start 200 – 1986 race 26 Charlotte
  • Career start 300 – 1990 race 10 Charlotte
  • Career start 400 – 1993 race 23 Richmond
  • Career start 500 – 1997 race 7 Bristol
  • Career start 600 – 2000 race 9 Talladega
  • Career start 700 – 2003 race 5 Darlington
  • Career start 800 – 2009 race 12 Charlotte
  • Career start 828 – 2012 race 18 Daytona (Final)
  • Career pole 1 – 1981 race 8 Darlington
  • Career pole 10 – 1985 race 11 Charlotte
  • Career pole 20 – 1986 race 17 Talladega
  • Career pole 30 – 1988 race 3 Rockingham
  • Career pole 40 -1991 race 20 Bristol
  • Career pole 50 – 2001 race 1 Daytona
  • Career pole 55 – 2002 race 20 Pocono (Final)
  • Career win 1 – 1983 race 30 Riverside
  • Career win 10 – 1985 race 13 Pocono
  • Career win 20 – 1987 race 19 Michigan
  • Career win 30 – 1989 race 14 Michigan
  • Career win 40 – 1994 race 23 Darlington
  • Career win 44 – 2003 race 35 Rockingham (Final)


  • 1985, 1987 Daytona 500 Winner
  • 1985 Coca-Cola 600 Winner
  • 1985, 1988, 1994 Southern 500 Winner
  • 1986 All-Star Race Winner
  • 1987 Daytona Clash Winner
  • 1988 Champion
  • 2002 Brickyard 400 Winner

Other Accomplishments

  • 1984-1988, 1991-2000, 2002 NASCAR Cup Series Most Popular Driver (16x)
  • 2007 Motorsports Hall of Fame of America Inductee
  • 2015 NASCAR Hall of Fame Inductee

Cup Series

SeasonTeamStartPoleWinTop-5Top-10DNFLaps CompLead Lap FinLaps LedRaces LedDNQWD
1976No Team Data800006104700000
1977No Team Data1000025208200010
1978No Team Data1000053227800000
1979No Team Data1300152332908310
1980No Team Data1100044210604400
1981No Team Data13101752777233300
1982No Team Data211089655408151900
1983No Team Data3001122239536101731500
1984No Team Data3043132439848125701700
1985No Team Data2811111618387241619201900
1986No Team Data29428166854985111500
1987No Team Data29861620589021713992200
1988No Team Data29661522196471715982000
1989No Team Data292381449037123801100
1990No Team Data29211216293491811851300
1991No Team Data2921612290209203600
1992No Team Data29251417291151312731800
1993No Team Data3020615393291114400
1994No Team Data3111612591721362800
1995No Team Data31204113934912123800
1996No Team Data240006274395108700
1997No Team Data321051439610134421100
1998No Team Data320005788651038800
1999No Team Data34001249764814300
2000No Team Data3200378863613111800
2001Gillett Evernham Motorsports3621592991518171900
2002Gillett Evernham Motorsports3642613410352222751300
2003Gillett Evernham Motorsports3601912210107246001200
2004Multiple Teams6000111432326100
2005Gillett Evernham Motorsports9000032102313100
2006Multiple Teams1000001223831120
2007Multiple Teams2000002536445410
2008Wood Brothers Racing2000000651731130
2009Wood Brothers Racing1200002291150000
2010Multiple Teams1300002331561100
2011Multiple Teams500000146020000
2012Multiple Teams20000216000010