Bobby Labonte

usa United States
Full Name
Robert Allen Labonte
Corpus Christi, TX
Date of Birth
First Year
Last Year


Labonte was the first driver to win both the Xfinity Series championship (1991) and Cup Series championship (2000). His brother Terry Labonte is a fellow Cup Series champion and his nephew Justin Labonte made starts in the NASCAR Xfinity Series.The Labontes were the first brothers to win the Cup title, a feat since duplicated by Kurt Busch and Kyle Busch.

He won 26 times of the course of his 25 year career, those wins included the 1995 World 600, 2000 Brickyard 400 and 2000 Southern 500. In addition to the Cup and Xinfity titles, he also captured the 2001 IROC championship. During the 1991 Xfinity Series, he was voted Most Popular Driver.

Primarily he drove for Joe Gibbs Racing, but also made starts with Labonte Motorsports, Bill Davis Racing, Petty Enterprises, Hall of Fame Racing, TRG Motorsports, Robby Gordon Motorsports, JTG Daugherty Racing, Go FAS Racing, and relief drove for Morgan-McClure Motorsports in the early 90s.

2018 he ran full-time in the NASCAR Whelen Euro Series, where he finished 14th in the final standings for the Elite 1 Class. Currently he is a commentator with FOX Sports.


04/10/2018 – Labonte announces he will run in the NASCAR Whelen Euro Series in 2018 driving the #18 for RDV Competition (Press Release)

04/19/2013 – Clorox Company will sponsor Labonte in the #47 Chevrolet at Talladega (Press Release)

Cup Series

SeasonTeamStartsPolesWinsTop5sTop10sLaps CompLaps LedRaces LedDNFDNQWD
1991Labonte Motorsports2000012800210
1993Bill Davis Racing3010069295337600
1994Bill Davis Racing310012854132700
1995Joe Gibbs Racing3123714901927814600
1996Joe Gibbs Racing3141514891633713500
1997Joe Gibbs Racing3231918948348412100
1998Joe Gibbs Racing33321118951218112600
1999Joe Gibbs Racing3455232610013120030100
2000Joe Gibbs Racing342419241015846523000
2001Joe Gibbs Racing36129201036122917600
2002Joe Gibbs Racing360157101351235400
2003Joe Gibbs Racing36421217997449718500
2004Joe Gibbs Racing361051110592418200
2005Joe Gibbs Racing36004795236441000
2006Petty Enterprises3600389954637800
2007Petty Enterprises36000310109177300
2008Petty Enterprises3600021061742200
2009Hall Of Fame Racing2900117893145500
2009TRG Motorsports70001158811200
2010TRG Motorsports190000496711400
2010Phoenix Racing140000265472700
2010Stavola Brothers Racing2000066600000
2010Robby Gordon Motorsports1000029700000
2011JTG Daugherty Racing3600121022864400
2012JTG Daugherty Racing3600021007111200
2013JTG Daugherty Racing270000693872500
2013Phoenix Racing10000500100
2014Tommy Baldwin Racing1000015700000
2014Circle Sport Racing100009800100
2014HScott Motorsports1000020000000
2015Go Fas Racing4000058911100
2016Go Fas Racing4000074032000