Carl Edwards

usa United States
Full Name
Carl Michael Edwards
Columbia, MO
Date of Birth
First Year
Last Year

Carl Edwards is a retired American stock car racing driver. After nearly winning the 2016 Cup Series championship, Edwards shocked the NASCAR community and announced his retirement in January of 2017 at age 38.

After working his way into the Truck Series, Edwards impressed owner Jack Roush, who hired him to drive for Roush Racing. He picked up three wins and Rookie of the Year honors in 2003, then won three more races in 2004, while making his Cup Series debut.

Running both the Xfinity and Cup Series schedule in 2005, Edwards picked up both his first wins in each series at Atlanta Motor Speedway in March. In 2007 he captured the Xfinity Series championship while finishing 9th in the Cup Series standings.

Four years later, Edwards nearly won the 2011 Cup Series title, losing a tiebreaker to Tony Stewart. Edwards spent three more season with Roush Fenway Racing, before moving to Joe Gibbs Racing for the 2015 season. With Gibbs, he finished fifth (2015) and fourth (2016) in points before his surprise retirement.

After each victory (28 in Cup, 38 in Xfinity, and 6 in Trucks), Edwards would do his trademark backflip in on the start/finish line in celebration.

Cup Career Highlights

  • 2011 NASCAR All-Star Race winner
  • 2015 Coca-Cola 600 winner
  • 2015 Southern 500 winner

Other Accomplishments

  • 2003 NASCAR Truck Series Rookie of the Year
  • 2005 NASCAR Xfinity Series Rookie of the Year
  • 2007 NASCAR Xfinity Series Champion
  • 2007 NASCAR Xfinity Series Most Popular Driver
Carl Edwards News


Cup Series

SeasonTeamStartPoleWinTop-5Top-10DNFLaps CompLead Lap FinLaps LedRaces LedDNQWD
2004Roush Fenway Racing13001524056815100
2005Roush Fenway Racing36241318110358264341200
2006Roush Fenway Racing36001020310347281891400
2007Roush Fenway Racing3613111549976295151200
2008Roush Fenway Racing361919272106033012822100
2009Roush Fenway Racing3600714310218301641200
2010Roush Fenway Racing3632919210575324271300
2011Roush Fenway Racing36311926010393319032500
2012Roush Fenway Racing36103132996825254500
2013Roush Fenway Racing3622916210235305241600
2014Roush Fenway Racing3602714210457271351100
2015Joe Gibbs Racing3632715210269293762100
2016Joe Gibbs Racing3663918610303269181700