Casey Mears

usa United States
Full Name
Casey James Mears
Bakersfield, CA
Date of Birth
First Year
Last Year

Casey Mears is a retired American stock car racing driver. He is the nephew of four-time Indianapolis 500 winner Rick Mears and the son of IndyCar and off-road veteran Roger Mears.

After two years in the Xfinity Series, Mears made the jump to the Cup Series in 2003 with Chip Ganassi Racing driving the number 41 Target Dodge. For the 2006 season, Mears was supposed to move to a new team within Ganassi, Reed Sorenson replacing him in the 41, but instead Mears ended up in the 42 car replacing Jamie McMurray.

Halfway through the 2006 season, Mears announced he would join Hendrick Motorsports starting in 2007 in the number 25 car replacing Brian Vickers. He picked up his lone Cup Series win in the Coca-Cola 600 using fuel strategy. At the end of the year he moved to the number 5 team within Hendrick Motorsports.

Hitting the midpoint of the 2008 season, Mears announced he would join Richard Childress Racing for the 2009 season. In an ironic twist, the opening there was brought about when driver Client Bowyer was moved to a new team within the Childress team, just like Mears had done at Ganassi and Hendrick.

Following the season, disappointing results led to Mears being released by Childress. He started 2010 with Key Motorsports, but then was released, was a standby driver for Denny Hamlin, then joined Tommy Baldwin Racing, left, and joined Team Red Bull. Replaced at Red Bull by Sorenson, Mears re-joined the Baldwin team, before joining Germain Racing.

Mears held onto the Germain ride for the rest of 2010 and the union lasted through the 2016 season. For 2017, Mears ran select races for Biagi-DenBeste Racing in the Xfinity Series. In 2018, Mears ran two races in Robby Gordon’s Speed Energy Formula Off-Road Series. He also has worked as a NASCAR analyst for Fox Sports 1.

Cup Career Highlights

  • 2007 Coca-Cola 600 Winner

Other Accomplishments

  • 2006 24 Hours of Daytona Winner
Casey Mears News

Cup Series

SeasonTeamStartPoleWinTop-5Top-10DNFLaps CompLead Lap FinLaps LedRaces LedDNQWD
2003Chip Ganassi Racing36000010934879200
2004Chip Ganassi Racing362019310180161031100
2005Chip Ganassi Racing3600393969215145800
2006Chip Ganassi Racing360028210389213200
2007Hendrick Motorsports361151021015724391000
2008Hendrick Motorsports360016599361685400
2009Richard Childress Racing3600040103232024400
2010Multiple Teams2100007550732290
2011Germain Racing35000088825610810
2012Germain Racing360000118616641600
2013Germain Racing360001310303158600
2014Germain Racing360013110405184200
2015Germain Racing360001410035144300
2016Germain Racing36000039964107200