Dale Earnhardt Jr

usa United States
Full Name
Ralph Dale Earnhardt Jr
Kannapolis, NC
Date of Birth
First Year
Last Year

Dale Earnhardt Jr is a retired American stock car racing driver. He is son of 7-time NASCAR Cup Series champion Dale Earnhardt. His family has a rich racing heritage, as his grandfather Ralph Earnhardt, borther Kerry Earnhardt, and nephew Jeffrey Earnhardt have all made Cup Series starts. His grandfather on his mother’s side is former team owner Robert Gee, his uncle is former crew chief Tony Eury, and his cousin is crew chief Tony Eury Jr. Currently he works as an analyst for NBC during their coverage of the series.

He began his NASCAR career running for his father’s team, Dale Earnhardt Inc. After a few starts in 1996 and 1997 in the NASCAR Xfinity Series, Earnhardt ran full-time in 1998 and 1999, picking up the championship in each year.

In 2000, he and his team graduated to the Cup Series, where he not only won twice, but won the All Star Race held at the Charlotte Motor Speedway. His best season was in 2003 when he placed third in the final standings. The next season he won six times, which including the Daytona 500.

After the 2007 season he moved to Hendrick Motorsports, where he spent the remainder of his 19 year career. His best season at Hendrick coming in 2013, where he finished fifth in the final standings.

Concussion issues caused him to miss two races in 2012 and half of the season in 2016, culminating in his retirement following the 2017 season.

Cup Career Highlights

  • 2000 NASCAR All-Star Race Winner
  • 2003-2017 NASCAR Cup Series Most Popular Driver (15x)
  • 2003, 2008 Daytona Clash Winner
  • 2004, 2014 Daytona 500 Winner

Other Accomplishments

  • 1998, 1999 NASCAR Xfinity Series Champion
  • 1998 NASCAR Xfinity Series Most Popular Driver
Dale Earnhardt Jr News

Cup Series

SeasonTeamStartPoleWinTop-5Top-10DNFLaps CompLead Lap FinLaps LedRaces LedDNQWD
1999Dale Earnhardt Inc500011136301100
2000Dale Earnhardt Inc34223579645134261000
2001Dale Earnhardt Inc3623915410302237671600
2002Dale Earnhardt Inc362211163103442310682200
2003Dale Earnhardt Inc360213214105052410462400
2004Dale Earnhardt Inc360616214105882711311900
2005Dale Earnhardt Inc36017136960819169700
2006Dale Earnhardt Inc36011017310358304441800
2007Dale Earnhardt Inc3610712910014244331700
2008Hendrick Motorsports36111016210574268962200
2009Hendrick Motorsports36002551014119146700
2010Hendrick Motorsports36103801071024185700
2011Hendrick Motorsports36104122105702952900
2012Hendrick Motorsports3411102009817293581300
2013Hendrick Motorsports36201022310256283421500
2014Hendrick Motorsports3604122029818293831700
2015Hendrick Motorsports3603162211020827286900
2016Hendrick Motorsports180056448611453300
2017Hendrick Motorsports362018797472047800