Dale Jarrett

usa United States
Full Name
Dale Arnold Jarrett
Hickory, NC
Date of Birth
First Year
Last Year

Dale Jarrett is a retired American stock car driver. He is son of two time NASCAR Cup Series champion Ned Jarrett, brother of former driver and broadcaster Glenn Jarrett, and father of Jason Jarrett. Currently Jarrett works as a racing commentator for NBC Sports.

Working his way up through the NASCAR Xfinity Series, Jarrett finally got his break sharing a ride with Cale Yarborough in 1989. The following year he replaced an injured Neil Bonnett at Wood Brother Racing, where he would score his first career win the next year at Michigan International Speedway.

In 1992, he moved to the new Joe Gibbs Racing team and won the 1993 Daytona 500. After three season, he moved to Robert Yates Racing (RYR) in 1995 to replace an injured Ernie Irvan in the number 28 Ford. The next year, RYR expanded to two cars, putting Jarrett in the number 88 Ford and that’s when his career really took off. With RYR, he would win the Daytona 500 two more times (1996 and 2000), the Brickyard 400 twice (1996 and 1999) the World 600 (1996), and the 1999 Cup Series championship.

After 12 season with the Yates team, Jarrett would move to Michael Waltrip Racing in 2007, where the team struggled to not only make races, but finish them. After five races in 2008, Jarrett retired to join the ESPN NASCAR broadcast team.

Cup Career Highlights

  • 1993, 1996, 2000 Daytona 500 Winner
  • 1996, 1999 Brickyard 400 Winner
  • 1996 World 600 Winner
  • 1996, 2000, 2004 Daytona Clash Winner
  • 1999 Champion

 Other Accomplishments

  • 2004 USG Person Of The Year Award
  • 2014 NASCAR Hall Of Fame Inductee
Dale Jarrett News

Cup Series

SeasonTeamStartPoleWinTop-5Top-10DNFLaps CompLead Lap FinLaps LedRaces LedDNQWD
1984No Team Data30000179600000
1986No Team Data1000016900000
1987No Team Data24000211478800000
1988No Team Data29000114655645210
1989No Team Data290025117798399300
1990Wood Brothers Racing24001796801473400
1991Wood Brothers Racing29013897767947700
1992Joe Gibbs Racing290028585868103600
1993Joe Gibbs Racing3001131859149172631500
1994Joe Gibbs Racing30014978410855810
1995Yates Racing31119146867116324800
1996Yates Racing3124172139307227552000
1997Yates Racing32272023197692420832200
1998Yates Racing3323192239475258122200
1999Yates Racing34042429199002810612200
2000Yates Racing3432152429750243331500
2001Yates Racing36441219410744275111700
2002Yates Racing3612101859881234401500
2003Yates Racing360117897601549600
2004Yates Racing36006143102601925700
2005Yates Racing361147210589234300
2006Yates Racing36001459855188600
2007Michael Waltrip Racing24000085771600120
2008Michael Waltrip Racing500001149613100