Denny Hamlin

usa United States
Full Name
James Dennis Alan Hamlin
Chesterfield, VA
Date of Birth
First Year

Denny Hamlin is an American professional stock car racing driver. He currently competes full-time in the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series, driving the No. 11 Toyota Camry for Joe Gibbs Racing, and part-time in the NASCAR Xfinity Series, driving the No. 18 Camry for JGR. He has won over 30 NASCAR Cup Series races, including the Daytona 500 in 2016.

Hamlin was born in Tampa, Florida, but lived in Chesterfield, Virginia for most of his childhood. He was born the youngest of five children. He began racing go-karts at the age of seven. Afterward, he worked his way up to Late Models by 2004 and signed a development contract with Joe Gibbs Racing. After running briefly in the Craftsman Truck Series, Hamlin drove a full season in the Busch Series in 2005, while running a few Nextel Cup races. After having strong race finishes, Hamlin was given a full-time ride with JGR.

His strongest season was in 2010, where he was leading the Championship by 15 points heading into the final race at Homestead. Despite having an incredible season, winning the most races of any driver in that year (8), he would lose the Championship by 39 points to Jimmie Johnson. With the exception of the 2013 season, in which a collision with Joey Logano damaged his lower back and kept him out for a large part of the early season, Hamlin has competed in the Chase for the NASCAR Cup in every season he has competed full-time (12 seasons as of 2018), including his rookie season in 2006 when he finished third in the Chase for the NASCAR Nextel Cup standings, capping off one of the most impressive rookie campaigns in modern NASCAR history. Since his appearance in the Cup Series, Hamlin has been one of the most consistent drivers in the sport, winning at least one race from the 2006 to 2017 Cup seasons.

Career Highlights

  • 2006, 2014, 2016 Daytona Clash Winner
  • 2006 NASCAR Cup Series Rookie of the Year
  • 2010, 2017 Southern 500 Winner
  • 2015 NASCAR All-Star Race Winner
  • 2016 Daytona 500 Winner
Denny Hamlin News

Cup Series

SeasonTeamStartPoleWinTop-5Top-10DNFLaps CompLead Lap FinLaps LedRaces LedDNQWD
2005Joe Gibbs Racing7100302334425300
2006Joe Gibbs Racing3632820110370294181300
2007Joe Gibbs Racing36111218110121259051800
2008Joe Gibbs Racing36111218310139267661500
2009Joe Gibbs Racing361415204100312713802000
2010Joe Gibbs Racing362814182105302911842000
2011Joe Gibbs Racing3601514210482264501500
2012Joe Gibbs Racing363514174102742512262400
2013Joe Gibbs Racing32514888522173631300
2014Joe Gibbs Racing353171829710283631800
2015Joe Gibbs Racing36321420210276285291700
2016Joe Gibbs Racing36131222410158295242000
2017Joe Gibbs Racing36121522410359287102000
2018Joe Gibbs Racing3640101749926273801900
2019Joe Gibbs Racing000000000000