Derrike Cope

usa United States
Full Name
Derrike Wayne Cope
Spanaway, WA
Date of Birth
First Year

Career Overview

Derrike Cope came to auto racing after a knee injury derailed his baseball career. The Spanaway, WA native drove all over the Pacific Northwest and made his Cup Series debut in 1982 at Riverside International Raceway, finishing 36th.

After running unsuccessfully for Rookie of the Year honors in 1987 with Stoke Racing, Cope moved to Testa Racing to finally run a full series campaign. The union with Testa lasted that season and only four races into the next season before Cope was on the sidelines again. Not long after, he signed up to run with the Bob Whitcomb Racing team to finish the 1989 season. Before the close of the season it was announced the team and Cope would part ways. During the offseason they came back together for the 1990 season.

It turns out the 1990 was the highlight season of Cope’s career, as thanks to a cut tire by Dale Earnhardt on the last lap of the Daytona 500, Cope captured his first career win in NASCAR’s biggest race. The Buddy Parrott led team would show that Daytona was no fluke by winning 10 races later at Dover. The year closed with Cope and company finishing 18th in points.

The magic never returned and Cope struggled over the next two seasons with Whitcomb, before departing the team for Cale Yarborough Motorsports. There he ran one a half seasons before being replaced by Jeremy Mayfield. Before the 1994 season ended, Cope hooked on with Bobby Allison Motorsports. The team had its ups and downs, but sponsorships struggles ended the partnership after the 1996 season.

Cope then moved to the brand new MB2 Motorsports operation that was running Pontiacs sponsored by Skittles. That lasted one more season before he signed on with Bahari Racing to run their Pontiacs for the 1998 season. After the team was sold near the end of the 1999 season, Cope was released from the ride and proceeded to bounce around in the Cup Series until he stopped running there after the 2011 season.

After six seasons away, Cope returned to the Cup Series in 2017 running for Premium Motorsports and the newly formed StarCom Racing team. For the 2018 season, Cope joined the team as manager, while still making the occasional start.

Teams Driven For

  • Jefferson Race 1982-1985
  • Warren Razore (owner) 1986
  • Stoke Racing 1987
  • Testa Racing 1988-1989
  • Whitcomb Racing 1989-1992
  • Cale Yarborough Motorsports 1993-1994
  • W. Taylor (owner) 1994
  • Bobby Allison Motorsports 1994-1996
  • MB2 Motorsports 1997
  • Bahari Racing 1998
  • Bud Moore Engineering 1999-2000
  • Circle Sport Racing 1999
  • Larry Hedrick Motorsports 1999
  • CLR Racing 2001-2002
  • Derrike Cope Racing 2001-2003, 2008-2011
  • BAM Racing 2002
  • Arnold Motorsports 2003-2004
  • Hover Motorsports 2004
  • Mach 1 Motorsports 2004
  • SCORE Motorsports 2004
  • W. Motorsports 2004
  • Conely Racing 2005
  • Hollenbeck Motorsports 2005
  • McGlynn Racing 2005-2007
  • Rick Ware Racing 2005
  • Front Row Motorsports 2006
  • John Carter Racing 2009
  • Max Q Motorpsorts 2009, 2011
  • Premium Motorsports 2017
  • StarCom Racing 2017-Present


  • Career start 1 – 1982 race 30 Riverside
  • Career start 100 – 1990 race 29 Atlanta
  • Career start 200 – 1994 race 13 Pocono
  • Career start 300 – 1997 race 24 Richmond
  • Career start 400 – 2006 race 7 Texas
  • Career pole 1 – 1998 race 28 Charlotte
  • Career win 1 – 1990 race 1 Daytona


  • 1990 Daytona 500 Winner

 Other Accomplishments

  • 1984 K&N Pro Series West Rookie of the Year

Cup Series

SeasonTeamStartPoleWinTop-5Top-10DNFLaps CompLead Lap FinLaps LedRaces LedDNQWD
1982No Team Data1000014200000
1984No Team Data30000137000000
1985No Team Data20000020600000
1986No Team Data500012110100010
1987No Team Data1100008163100000
1988No Team Data26000016477200010
1989Multiple Teams23000412538235310
1990No Team Data2902261079619109600
1991No Team Data28001214678430010
1992No Team Data2900036848340000
1993No Team Data30000188406238300
1994Multiple Teams300002108506111210
1995No Team Data31002859335970400
1996No Team Data290003117329428220
1997No Team Data3100126855894210
1998No Team Data28100097526316340
1999Multiple Teams15000043489000150
2000No Team Data30000163800010
2001Multiple Teams10000026300050
2002Multiple Teams700003150300040
2003Multiple Teams18000012289700091
2004Multiple Teams1800009405801150
2005Multiple Teams10000048800060
2006Multiple Teams900007848000182
2007No Team Data000000000012
2008No Team Data000000000020
2009Multiple Teams1000013100062
2010No Team Data000000000010
2011Multiple Teams000000000020
2017Multiple Teams1500004368100001
2018StarCom Racing20000129600000