J.J. Yeley

usa United States
Full Name
Christopher Beltram Hernandez Yeley
Phoenix, AZ
Date of Birth
First Year

Career Overview

An open wheel standout, J.J. Yeley caught the attention of Joe Gibbs, signing on to run a partial Xfinity Series schedule in 2004. He would make his debut later in the year at Fontana.

The big break of his career came when the team announced that Bobby Labonte, drive of the 18 car since 1995, would not return for the 2006 season. Running the familiar Interstate Batteries colors for two years, Yeley struggled posting only one top-5 finish in his 72 race tenure. At the end of the 2007 season he was let go in favor of Kyle Busch.

Not fully jettisoned from the Joe Gibbs Racing stable, Yeley signed on with Hall of Fame racing for the 2008 season. The two teams shared a technical alliance, but that pairing only last 21 races (17 of which Yeley qualified for) before the two parted ways.

He would run partial schedules for the next four seasons before hooking onto Tommy Baldwin Racing for the 2013 season. The pairing was decent on the track, but Yeley was once again looking for work after just one year. Another year of spotty fill in work in 2014 led to running a full season for BK Racing in 2015.

After staying out of the Cup Series in 2016, Yeley was back with Tommy Baldwin for four races in 2017. For 2018, he started without a ride, but got the call to run with Premium Motorsports in the sixth race of the year at Martinsville.

Teams Driven For

  • Joe Gibbs Racing 2004-2007
  • Hall of Fame Racing 2008
  • Mayfield Motorsports 2009
  • Latitude 43 Motorsports 2010
  • Tommy Baldwin Racing 2010, 2012, 2017
  • Whitney Motorsports 2010-2011
  • Front Row Motorsports 2011
  • Max Q Motorsports 2012
  • Premium Motorsports 2012, 2018
  • BK Racing 2014-2015
  • Go FAS Racing 2014
  • Team Xtreme Racing 2014


  • Career start 1 – 2004   race 25 Fontana
  • Career start 100 – 2010 race 15 Michigan
  • Career start 200 – 2013 race 34 Texas
  • Career pole 1 – 2007 race 15 Michigan

Other Accomplishments

  • 1997 USAC Sprint Rookie of the Year
  • 2001, 2003 USAC Sprint Champion
  • 2002, 2003 USAC Silver Crown Champion
  • 2002, 2003 Non-Winged Driver of the Year
  • 2003 USAC Triple Crown Winner
  • 2003 USAC Midget Champion

Cup Series

SeasonTeamStartPoleWinTop-5Top-10DNFLaps CompLead Lap FinLaps LedRaces LedDNQWD
2004Joe Gibbs Racing20000135100020
2005Joe Gibbs Racing400000102601110
2006Joe Gibbs Racing3600037101111423900
2007Joe Gibbs Racing361013597911811300
2008Hall Of Fame Racing1700113493141140
2009No Team Data000000000011
2010Multiple Teams17000013202112260
2011Multiple Teams310000242997124630
2012Multiple Teams240000163134011110
2013Tommy Baldwin Racing3500018942159600
2014Multiple Teams1800006466900040
2015BK Racing3400004889623300
2017Tommy Baldwin Racing400001128800000
2018Premium Motorsports30000184100000