Jeff Gordon

usa United States
Full Name
Jeffrey Michael Gordon
Vallejo, CA
Date of Birth
First Year
Last Year

Jeff Gordon is an American former professional stock car racing driver, currently an announcer for Fox NASCAR, and a top executive for Hendrick Motorsports. He formerly drove the No. 24 Chevrolet for Hendrick Motorsports in 23 full-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Series seasons between 1993 and 2015, and served as a substitute driver for Dale Earnhardt Jr. in the No. 88 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet in select races during the 2016 season.

Gordon started his professional racing career in the Busch Series with Hugh Connerty Racing, followed by Bill Davis Racing, winning three races, and began racing full-time in the Cup Series for Hendrick Motorsports in 1993. He is a four-time Sprint Cup champion, having won the title in 1995, 1997, 1998, and 2001. He also won the Daytona 500 three times in 1997, 1999, and 2005. He is third on the all-time Cup wins list with 93 career wins, the most in NASCAR’s modern era (1972–present). Gordon’s 81 pole positions led all active drivers and is third all-time; Gordon won at least one pole in 23 consecutive seasons, making this a NASCAR record. He was also the active “iron man” leader for consecutive races participated in with 797 through the 2015 season.

In 1998, NASCAR named Gordon to its 50 Greatest Drivers list. In 2008, ten years later, ESPN’s Terry Blount ranked him 10th in the 25 Greatest Drivers of All-Time. named him as the fifth-best NASCAR driver of all time.

Gordon, along with Rick Hendrick, co-owns the No. 48 Chevrolet driven by Jimmie Johnson, who won seven Cup championships from 2006 to 2010, 2013, and in 2016. Gordon also has an equity stake in the No. 24 team. Gordon also owned a Busch Series team between 1999 and 2000, Gordon/Evernham Motorsports (co-owned with Ray Evernham; later solely owned as JG Motorsports), winning twice.

Gordon was born in Vallejo, California, and raised in Pittsboro, Indiana, and considers Sonoma Raceway and Indianapolis Motor Speedway as his “home” tracks. He currently lives in Charlotte, North Carolina, with his wife, Ingrid Vandebosch and their two children Ella Sofia and Leo Benjamin.

Career Highlights

  • 1993 NASCAR Cup Series Rookie of the Year
  • 1994, 1997 Daytona Clash Race Winner
  • 1994, 1997, 1998  Coca-Cola 600 Winner
  • 1994, 1998, 2001, 2004, 2014 Brickyard 400 Winner
  • 1995, 1997, 2001 All-Star Race Winner
  • 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 2002, 2007 Southern 500 Winner
  • 1995, 1997, 1998, 2001 NASCAR Cup Series Champion
  • 1997, 1999, 2005 Daytona 500 Winner

Other Accomplishments

  • 1991 NASCAR Xfinity Series Rookie of the Year
  • 1995, 1997, 1998, 2001 Driver Of The Year
  • 2009 National Midget Auto Racing Hall of Fame Inductee
  • 2009 Silver Buffalo Award recipient
  • 2018 Motorsports Hall of Fame of America Inductee
Jeff Gordon News

Cup Series

SeasonTeamStartPoleWinTop-5Top-10DNFLaps CompLead Lap FinLaps LedRaces LedDNQWD
1992Hendrick Motorsports10000116400000
1993Hendrick Motorsports3010711118390112301400
1994Hendrick Motorsports3112714109277104461700
1995Hendrick Motorsports31871723394052326102900
1996Hendrick Motorsports315102124589722323142500
1997Hendrick Motorsports321102223292762216472400
1998Hendrick Motorsports337132628298182817172600
1999Hendrick Motorsports34771821793842313192600
2000Hendrick Motorsports3433112229897224251500
2001Hendrick Motorsports366618242106382723202500
2002Hendrick Motorsports36331320310201279891400
2003Hendrick Motorsports364315205104192416392200
2004Hendrick Motorsports366516254101202812372500
2005Hendrick Motorsports362481499648235811500
2006Hendrick Motorsports36221418710401266902400
2007Hendrick Motorsports367621301102403213002300
2008Hendrick Motorsports36401319610269294472000
2009Hendrick Motorsports36111625110398308271900
2010Hendrick Motorsports36101117410545309192000
2011Hendrick Motorsports36131318310421279222200
2012Hendrick Motorsports36221118510006245682300
2013Hendrick Motorsports362181759968284341700
2014Hendrick Motorsports363414230105033210832600
2015Hendrick Motorsports3641521110292292651500
2016Hendrick Motorsports800020257177100