Ken Schrader

usa United States
Full Name
Kenneth Schrader
Fenton, MO
Date of Birth
First Year
Last Year

Career Overview

Ken Schrader made his Cup Series debut at the Nashville Speedway in 1984 driving for Elmo Langley. That opened the door for a full-time ride in 1985 driving for the legendry Virginian Junie Donlavey. The pairing captured Rookie of the Year honors, but success was limited in the follow up year.

Schrader made the jump to Hendrick Motorsports. There he replaced Tim Richmond in the #25 Folgers Chevrolet for the 1987 season. This ten-year union produced all of Schrader’s wins (4) and best points finish (4th 1994).

Life after Hendrick started at Andy Petree Racing, driving the famous #33 Skoal Bandit Chevrolet. The union was highlighted with poles (5), but no wins. With sponsorship in question, Skoal was leaving the sport, Schrader decided to jump ship to MB2 Motorsports, replacing the retiring Ernie Irvan.

Three years spent with MB2, Schrader then departed to join the BAM Racing operation. That was another three year stretch with limit success for the small team. For the 2006 season, Schrader joined the Wood Brothers for his final full-time season.

For the balance of his career, Schrader drove in limit capacity for various teams, mostly as a substitute until the 2011 season. There he joined Go FAS Racing and ran a limited schedule for the next three season, finally hanging up his helmet after the 2013 finale at the Homestead-Miami Speedway.

Teams Driven For


  • Career start 1 – 1984 race 17 Nashville
  • Career start 100 – 1988 race 9 Talladega
  • Career start 200 – 1991 race 22 Richmond
  • Career start 300 – 1995 race 3 Richmond
  • Career start 400 – 1998 race 9 Talladega
  • Career start 500 – 2001 race 8 Martinsville
  • Career start 600 – 2004 race 4 Atlanta
  • Career start 700 – 2006 race 32 Martinsville
  • Career start 763 – 2013 race 36 Homestead (Final)
  • Career pole 1 – 1987 race 5 Darlington
  • Career pole 10 – 1990 race 27 Rockingham
  • Career pole 20 – 1997 race 25 New Hampshire
  • Career pole 23 – 1998 race 9 Talladega (Final)
  • Career win 1 – 1988 race 17 Talladega
  • Career win 4 – 1991 race 11 Dover (Final)


  • 1985 Rookie of the Year

Other Accomplishments

  • 1980 USAC Stock Car Rookie of the Year
  • 1982 USAC Silver Crown Series Champion
  • 1983 USAC Sprint Car Series Champion


Cup Series

SeasonTeamStartPoleWinTop-5Top-10DNFLaps CompLead Lap FinLaps LedRaces LedDNQWD
1984No Team Data500000150800000
1985No Team Data2800037778604100
1986No Team Data2900049804712200
1987No Team Data29101108816261541000
1988Multiple Teams292141719115121421310
1989Hendrick Motorsports2941101468675123641700
1990Hendrick Motorsports293071488649132421200
1991Hendrick Motorsports2902101868331154401600
1992Hendrick Motorsports2910411684251083500
1993Hendrick Motorsports306091548877112861400
1994Hendrick Motorsports31009182970415222900
1995Hendrick Motorsports3110210985509238900
1996Hendrick Motorsports310031029408745700
1997No Team Data322028196121446700
1998No Team Data3320311592381260400
1999No Team Data3410061967698300
2000No Team Data340002299541233500
2001No Team Data3600052105341210300
2002No Team Data36000099813846100
2003BAM Racing3200028870650040
2004BAM Racing3600015978986600
2005BAM Racing360003799111434800
2006Wood Brothers Racing360002891871011200
2007Multiple Teams1300004376713230
2008Multiple Teams1500001513631151
2010No Team Data10000049907100
2011Go Fas Racing700000247202110
2012Go Fas Racing1300002366000000
2013Go Fas Racing1000001344800000