Kevin Harvick

usa United States
Full Name
Kevin Michael Harvick
Bakersfield, CA
Date of Birth
First Year

Career Overview

Kevin Harvick was thrust into the national spotlight after the tragic death of Dale Earnhardt on the last lap of the 2001 Daytona 500. The plan was for Harvick to run a handful of races in 2001 before jumping to the Cup Series in the number 30 America Online entry for Richard Childress Racing. After that dark Sunday, it was the second race of the 2001 season that saw Harvick step into the now rebranded 29 GM Goodwrench Service Chevrolet.

He scored his first victory at Atlanta in just his fourth start, beating eventual season champion Jeff Gordon to the line by inches. The victory was very cathartic for the team and fans, but also solidified that Harvick was worthy of the ride. He would score a second win at the inaugural race at the Chicagoland Speedway to finish ninth in points despite missing the first race. That year, he was also the Xfinity Series champion.

The union between Harvick and Childress was very interesting to say the least. Harvick performed, even when the other teams didn’t and was always in the conversation for victories and championships. Third place was the best he could do in the title hunt, accomplishing that three times (2010, 2011, and 2013).

It was after the 2013 season Harvick bolted for the only organization he had ever driven for to join friend Tony Stewart, co-owner of Stewart-Haas Racing. The pairing of Harvick and crew chief Rodney Childers was an instant success as the won eight poles and five races, including the season ending race that clinched the championship.

Since that tile Harvick has finished second, eighth, and third in the championship standings. In 2018, he won three straight races at Atlanta, Las Vegas, and Phoenix to start off the year.

Teams Driven For

  • Richard Childress Racing 2001-2013
  • Stewart-Haas Racing 2014-Present


  • Career start 1 – 2001 race 2 Rockingham
  • Career start 100 – 2003 race 30 Kansas
  • Career start 200 – 2006 race 22 Watkins Glen
  • Career start 300 – 2009 race 14 Pocono
  • Career start 400 – 2012 race 6 Martinsville
  • Career start 500 – 2014 race 34 Texas
  • Career start 600 – 2017 race 26 Richmond
  • Career pole 1 – 2002 race 17 Daytona
  • Career pole 10 – 2014 race 20 Indianapolis
  • Career pole 20 – 2017 race 12 Charlotte
  • Career win 1 – 2001 race 4 Atlanta
  • Career win 10 – 2006 race 35 Phoenix
  • Career win 20 – 2013 race 9 Richmond
  • Career win 30 – 2015 race 4 Phoenix


  • 2001 Rookie of the Year
  • 2003 Brickyard 400 Winner
  • 2007 Daytona 500 Winner
  • 2007, 2018 All-Star Race Winner
  • 2011, 2013 Coca-Cola 600 Winner
  • 2014 Southern 500 Winner
  • 2014 Champion

Other Accomplishments

  • 1998 K&N Pro West Series Champion
  • 2000 NASCAR Xfinity Series Rookie of the Year
  • 2001 NASCAR Xfinity Series Champion
  • 2002 IROC Champion

Cup Series

SeasonTeamStartPoleWinTop-5Top-10DNFLaps CompLead Lap FinLaps LedRaces LedDNQWD
2001Richard Childress Racing3502616110561273741200
2002Richard Childress Racing3511586956613178800
2003Richard Childress Racing36111118010621205691900
2004Richard Childress Racing360051441040522177900
2005Richard Childress Racing3621310110463253261200
2006Richard Childress Racing36151520110560278951400
2007Richard Childress Racing3601415010481242711200
2008Richard Childress Racing360071901052530192800
2009Richard Childress Racing36005921023723159400
2010Richard Childress Racing36031626110645323571600
2011Richard Childress Racing3604919110450304031700
2012Richard Childress Racing360151421039830256900
2013Richard Childress Racing3614921210204332691200
2014Stewart-Haas Racing368514202100322721372700
2015Stewart-Haas Racing361323281101802822942900
2016Stewart-Haas Racing362417273102152913842200
2017Stewart-Haas Racing36421423410155298501500
2018Stewart-Haas Racing1525111224167129581000