Kyle Busch

usa United States
Full Name
Kyle Thomas Busch
Las Vegas, NV
Date of Birth
First Year

Kyle Busch, nicknamed Rowdy, is an American professional stock car racing driver and team owner. He currently competes full-time in the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series, driving the No. 18 Toyota Camry for Joe Gibbs Racing and part-time in the NASCAR Xfinity Series, driving the No. 18 Toyota Supra for JGR. He also owns Kyle Busch Motorsports, which runs multiple trucks in the Gander Outdoors Truck Series and a Super Late Model team. Busch is the 2009 NASCAR Nationwide Series champion and the 2015 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion.

Busch is the younger brother of 2004 NASCAR Nextel Cup Series champion Kurt Busch. He also currently holds several records in NASCAR competition, including the most race wins in a season across the top three NASCAR series, with 24 wins, which he accomplished in 2010. He has the second most all-time wins in all three of NASCAR’s national touring series with 194, 6 behind the 200 of Richard Petty. Furthermore, he holds the record for the most Xfinity Series wins in a season with 13 in 2010, and the most overall with 92. Busch is tied with Ron Hornaday Jr. for most overall wins in the Camping World Truck Series with 51.

At age 19 years and 317 days, Busch became NASCAR’s youngest ever pole winner in a Cup Series race at California Speedway in 2005. He’s the youngest driver to qualify for the Chase for the Sprint Cup, in 2006. Furthermore, Busch became the first driver to win a race and a championship in a Toyota in the Sprint Cup Series, winning at Atlanta Motor Speedway during the 2008 season and the 2015 Cup Series championship. Additionally, he is the only driver to win four straight spring races at Richmond International Raceway (2009ā€“2012), and was also the inaugural winner of the first Cup Series race at Kentucky Speedway, in 2011.

Busch, who began his NASCAR career in 2003, is one of only five drivers that have won a championship in both the Sprint Cup Series and the Xfinity Series, and in 2005 became the 14th of only 28 drivers to win a race in each of NASCAR’s three national series. In 2009, Busch became the first driver to win two of NASCAR’s top touring series races in the same day (at Auto Club Speedway), followed in 2010 as the first driver to win races in all three of NASCAR’s top three touring series in the same weekend (at Bristol), which he would do again at the same track in 2017.

When Busch won the 2009 Crown Royal Presents the Russell Friedman 400 at Richmond International Raceway as he turned 24, he was the second of just three people to ever win on their birthday. His team, Kyle Busch Motorsports, became the first Camping World Truck Series team to win the owners’ championship in its first year after recording 8 wins, 16 top 5, and 21 top 10 finishes in 2010

Career Highlights

  • 2005 NASCAR Cup Series Rookie of the Year
  • 2008 Southern 500 Winner
  • 2012 Daytona Clash Winner
  • 2015, 2016 Brickyard 400 Winner
  • 2015 NASCAR Cup Series Champion
  • 2017 NASCAR All-Star Race Winner
  • 2018 Coca-Cola 600 Winner

Other Accomplishments

  • 2004 NASCAR Xfinity Series Rookie of the Year
  • 2009 NASCAR Xfinity Series Champion
  • 2009, 2017 Snowball Derby Winner
Kyle Busch News
  • Brother – Kurt Busch

Cup Series

SeasonTeamStartPoleWinTop-5Top-10DNFLaps CompLead Lap FinLaps LedRaces LedDNQWD
2003Hendrick Motorsports000000000001
2004Hendrick Motorsports600004109810030
2005Hendrick Motorsports361291389705193621000
2006Hendrick Motorsports36111018210013275712000
2007Hendrick Motorsports36011120210280276372000
2008Joe Gibbs Racing362817212103122716732400
2009Joe Gibbs Racing36149132102722411571800
2010Joe Gibbs Racing362310183106072912711900
2011Joe Gibbs Racing35141418498292414552600
2012Joe Gibbs Racing36211320498442414361800
2013Joe Gibbs Racing363416224100702912272000
2014Joe Gibbs Racing363191549882254531500
2015Joe Gibbs Racing2515121626752197361800
2016Joe Gibbs Racing36241725599252913792600
2017Joe Gibbs Racing3611514224102842820233000
2018Joe Gibbs Racing364822283100013114692400
2019Joe Gibbs Racing000000000000