Mark Martin

usa United States
Full Name
Mark Anthony Martin
Batesville, AR
Date of Birth
First Year
Last Year

Mark Martin is a retired American stock car racing driver. He last drove the No. 14 Chevrolet SS for Stewart-Haas Racing in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series as a relief driver in August 2013. As of 2014, he had the second most wins in what is now the Xfinity Series with 49. He finished second in the Sprint Cup Series standings five times, and has been described by ESPN as “The best driver to never win a championship.” Martin, with five IROC Championships, has more than any other driver. Also, during the 2005 season, Martin took over the all-time record for IROC wins, with 13.

Career Highlights

  • 1993 Southern 500 Winner
  • 1998, 2005 All-Star Race Winner
  • 1999 Daytona Clash Winner
  • 2002 Coca-Cola 600 Winner
  • 2009 Southern 500 Winner

Other Accomplishments

  • 1977 ASA National Tour Rookie of the Year
  • 1978, 1979, 1980, 1986 ASA National Tour Champion
  • 1994, 1996, 1997, 1998, 2005 IROC Champion
  • 2015 Motorsports Hall of Fame of America Inductee
  • 2017 NASCAR Hall of Fame Inductee
Mark Martin News

Cup Series

SeasonTeamStartPoleWinTop-5Top-10DNFLaps CompLead Lap FinLaps LedRaces LedDNQWD
1981No Team Data5201221478076200
1982No Team Data30002812745004300
1983Multiple Teams1600138413021100
1986No Team Data500002134200010
1987No Team Data1000016800000
1988Roush Fenway Racing29103101076058121400
1989Roush Fenway Racing2961141849010164801600
1990Roush Fenway Racing2933162319636224481500
1991Roush Fenway Racing2951141758907166631500
1992Roush Fenway Racing2912101758954165331700
1993Roush Fenway Racing30551219593811813492000
1994Roush Fenway Racing3112152089549177331800
1995Roush Fenway Racing3144132219393187401400
1996Roush Fenway Racing3140142349064217021600
1997Roush Fenway Racing3234162439599247982000
1998Roush Fenway Racing33372226198302617302300
1999Roush Fenway Racing3412192639903267002500
2000Roush Fenway Racing3401132069240234931800
2001Roush Fenway Racing3620315410138221901900
2002Roush Fenway Racing36011222310517283631500
2003Roush Fenway Racing36005107954418159700
2004Roush Fenway Racing36011015210403254651300
2005Roush Fenway Racing36011219210306293241400
2006Roush Fenway Racing3600715210455292921300
2007Multiple Teams2400511264052067600
2008Dale Earnhardt Inc24004111702319124300
2009Hendrick Motorsports3675142149979308052300
2010Hendrick Motorsports3610711310646241481200
2011Hendrick Motorsports36202103102232475700
2012Michael Waltrip Racing24404105659017197900
2013Multiple Teams281015282761898200