Matt Kenseth

usa United States
Full Name
Matthew Roy Kenseth
Cambridge, WI
Date of Birth
First Year
Last Year

Matt Kenseth is an American former professional stock car racing driver. He last competed part-time in the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series, driving the No. 6 Ford Fusion for Roush Fenway Racing. He had stepped away from full-time racing after the 2017 season after a career racing for Roush Fenway Racing and Joe Gibbs Racing.

Kenseth started racing on several short tracks in Wisconsin and won track championships at Madison International Speedway, Slinger Super Speedway and Wisconsin International Raceway. He moved to the ARTGO, American Speed Association, and Hooters Late Model touring series before getting a full-time ride in the NASCAR Busch Series (now Xfinity Series) for his former Wisconsin short track rival Robbie Reiser, finishing second and third in the standings.

Kenseth moved up in the NASCAR Winston Cup Series (now Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series). He won the series’ Rookie of the Year title in 2000 and the championship in 2003. The International Race of Champions invited Kenseth to race in their 2004 season as the reigning champion and he won the season championship. In 2009, he won a rain-shortened Daytona 500 and repeated as Daytona 500 winner in 2012. He is the father of Ross Kenseth.

Career Highlights

  • 2000 Coca-Cola 600 Winner
  • 2000 NASCAR Cup Series Rookie of the Year
  • 2003 NASCAR Cup Series Champion
  • 2009, 2012 Daytona 500 Winner
  • 2013 Southern 500 Winner
  • 2012, 2014 Daytona Duel Winner
  • 2015 Daytona Clash Winner

Other Accomplishments

  • 2004 IROC Champion
Matt Kenseth News

Cup Series

SeasonTeamStartPoleWinTop-5Top-10DNFLaps CompLead Lap FinLaps LedRaces LedDNQWD
1998Multiple Teams10001040010010
1999Roush Fenway Racing500113135820000
2000Roush Fenway Racing34014115946615162700
2001Roush Fenway Racing360049510341191001400
2002Roush Fenway Racing36151119310303236931600
2003Roush Fenway Racing36011125210350303541700
2004Roush Fenway Racing3602816610279254771400
2005Roush Fenway Racing362112174101832410011700
2006Roush Fenway Racing360415211106003111322300
2007Roush Fenway Racing36021322410309299122000
2008Roush Fenway Racing3600920310322256042000
2009Roush Fenway Racing3612712210070292451400
2010Roush Fenway Racing3600615010770321081300
2011Roush Fenway Racing36331220310421288752300
2012Roush Fenway Racing36131319110367294802300
2013Joe Gibbs Racing363712203101413017832600
2014Joe Gibbs Racing36201322210343305292000
2015Joe Gibbs Racing3445122049267289271900
2016Joe Gibbs Racing3612819410197299482300
2017Joe Gibbs Racing36211018610113274211100
2018Roush Fenway Racing1500021416275100