Rusty Wallace

usa United States
Full Name
Russell William Wallace Jr
St. Louis, MO
Date of Birth
First Year
Last Year

Rusty Wallace is a retired American racing driver, and a former NASCAR Winston Cup Champion. Considered one of racing’s most well-known and charismatic personalities, he is a member of four of stock car racing’s major halls of fame: the NASCAR Hall of Fame (2013), the International Motorsports Hall of Fame (2013), the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America (2014) and the National Motorsports Press Association Hall of Fame (2010). He was the 1984 NASCAR Winston Cup Rookie of the Year and the 1989 Winston Cup champion.

Career Highlights

  • 1984 NASCAR Cup Series Rookie of the Year
  • 1989 NASCAR Cup Series Champion
  • 1989 NASCAR All Star Race Winner
  • 1990 World 600 Winner
  • 1998 Daytona Shootout Winner

Other Accomplishments

  • 1979 USAC Stock Car Rookie of the Year
  • 1983 American Speed Association Champion
  • 1988, 1993 Richard Petty Driver of the Year winner
  • 1991 IROC champion
  • 1998 Missouri Sports Hall of Fame Inductee
  • 1998 Named one of NASCAR’s 50 Greatest Drivers
  • 2005 NASCAR Illustrated Person of the Year
  • 2005 NMPA Myers Brothers Award winner
  • 2010 National Motorsports Press Association Hall of Fame Inductee
  • 2011 St. Louis Sports Hall of Fame Inductee
  • 2013 NASCAR Hall of Fame Inductee
  • 2014 Motorsports Hall of Fame of America Inductee
Rusty Wallace News


Cup Series

SeasonTeamStartPoleWinTop-5Top-10DNFLaps CompLead Lap FinLaps LedRaces LedDNQWD
1980Team Penske20011065310000
1981No Team Data40001383800000
1982No Team Data30000341800000
1983No Team Data000000000010
1984No Team Data30002498868411700
1985No Team Data280028127271028100
1986No Team Data2902416484868428900
1987No Team Data291291678323124501500
1988No Team Data2926192329222219071800
1989No Team Data29461320491041520202300
1990No Team Data2922916884591411371600
1991Team Penske2922914108316125241400
1992Team Penske29115125875996731100
1993Team Penske303101921596412328602000
1994Team Penske31281720592811721421900
1995Team Penske31021519494972010661700
1996Team Penske310581868383179641300
1997Team Penske3211812118747147851100
1998Team Penske3341152129603239451900
1999Team Penske3441716395921710481100
2000Team Penske34941220399252217312100
2001Team Penske36018143101382611041100
2002Team Penske361071711059128202900
2003Team Penske360021249734173791000
2004Team Penske360131131036519308800
2005Team Penske360081701060328259700