Tony Stewart

usa United States
Full Name
Anthony Wayne Stewart
Columbus, IN
Date of Birth
First Year
Last Year

Tony Stewart, nicknamed Smoke, is an American former professional stock car racing driver and is currently a NASCAR team owner. He is a three-time Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series champion as a driver, winning titles in 2002, 2005 and 2011. In 2011, Stewart had an ownership interest in the team. He won again as an owner with Kevin Harvick‘s title in 2014. Throughout his racing career, Stewart has won racing titles in Indy, midget, sprint, and USAC Silver Crown cars. He is the only driver in history to win a championship in both IndyCar and NASCAR.

He last competed full-time in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series (now known as the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series) during the 2016 season, driving the No. 14 Chevrolet SS for his own team, Stewart-Haas Racing, under crew chief Mike Bugarewicz. From 1999 to 2008, he drove the No. 20 Joe Gibbs Racing car, under crew chief Greg Zipadelli with The Home Depot as the primary sponsor. While driving for car owner Joe Gibbs, Stewart won two Cup Series championships in 2002 and 2005. In 2011, Stewart became the first owner-driver since Alan Kulwicki to win the Cup Series championship, which ended Jimmie Johnson‘s streak of consecutive championships at five. Stewart is the only driver to win the Cup Series championship under the old points system and the chase playoff format, and is the only driver to win the title under three different sponsorships (Winston in 2002, Nextel in 2005, and Sprint in 2011). He is also the first driver in the Cup Series to win the championship by virtue of a tie breaker (number of wins during the season is the first level tie breaker; Stewart had five while eventual runner-up Carl Edwards had one.)

Career Highlights

  • 1999 NASCAR Cup Series Rookie of the Year
  • 2001, 2002, 2007 Daytona Clash Winner
  • 2002, 2005, 2011 Champion
  • 2005, 2007 Brickyard 400 Winner
  • 2009 NASCAR All-Star Race Winner

 Other Accomplishments

  • 1994 USAC National Midget Series Champion
  • 1995 USAC Triple Crown Champion
  • 1996 Indianapolis 500 Rookie of the Year
  • 1997 Indy Racing League Champion
  • 2002, 2007 Chili Bowl Winner
  • 2006 IROC Champion
  • 2016 USAC Hall of Fame Inductee
Tony Stewart News

Cup Series

SeasonTeamStartPoleWinTop-5Top-10DNFLaps CompLead Lap FinLaps LedRaces LedDNQWD
1999Joe Gibbs Racing34231221199082212271700
2000Joe Gibbs Racing34261223593352512121600
2001Joe Gibbs Racing36031522410429294651200
2002Joe Gibbs Racing36231521610181267451700
2003Joe Gibbs Racing36121218510201248821600
2004Joe Gibbs Racing36021019210427268871700
2005Joe Gibbs Racing363517251106702818451900
2006Joe Gibbs Racing360515194100572613601900
2007Joe Gibbs Racing36031123410349269802000
2008Joe Gibbs Racing36011016310333256331500
2009Stewart-Haas Racing36041523110468314141900
2010Stewart-Haas Racing3622917110738275372000
2011Stewart-Haas Racing3615919110579319132100
2012Stewart-Haas Racing36131216210195214201400
2013Stewart-Haas Racing2101580574416114500
2014Stewart-Haas Racing3310374930620125600
2015Stewart-Haas Racing360003598531424300
2016Stewart-Haas Racing280158476311536400