Chip Ganassi Racing

2001 – After the 2000 season Felix Sabates sold most of his Team SABCO organization to successful IndyCar Series owner Chip Ganassi to form Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates (CGR). At the same time the team switched from Chevrolet to Dodge. The team hires Jason Leffler to drive the #01 Cingular Wireless Dodge, joining veteran Sterling Marlin, who was retained to drive the #40 Coors Light Dodge.

2002 – Leffler is let go and Jimmy Spencer is brought in to replace him. The team switches numbers from 01 to 41 and long time Ganassi backer Target joins as Spencer’s sponsor. Marlin has a fantastic year, winning twice and leading the points the majority of the year. A wreck at Kansas results in a broken back and sidelines Marlin for the rest of the year, derailing his championship dreams. Jamie McMurray is brought in to replace him for the final six races and sores an upset, winning in his second start in the Cup Series at Charlotte.

2003 – Spencer is replaced with Casey Mears, Jamie McMurray is rewarded a full-time ride in the #42 Texaco Havoline Dodge, and Marlin returns again the 40 car.

2004 – The three M’s of Mears, McMurray, and Marlin all return with mixed results.

2005 – Another year of inconsistent results for the three drivers.

2006 – McMurray leaves the team and Mears shifts over to the 42 car, that opens the door for rookie Reed Sorenson to take over the #41 entry. Marlin is replaced by David Stremme in the 40 car.

2007 – Stremme and Sorenson are joined by rookie Juan Pablo Montoya for the season. Montoya wins his first race at Sonoma.

2008 – The team hires open wheel star Dario Franchitti to drive the #40 entry, along with Montoya and Sorenson. Franchitti only runs 10 races due to injury and lack of sponsorship and the 40 team is folded mid-year.

2009 – The team merged with Dale Earnhadt Inc (DEI) and renamed Earnhardt Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates. Teresa Earnhardt now had a minority share in the team. The team runs three cars, Juan Pablo Montoya in the #42, Martin Truex Jr in the #1, and Aric Almirola in the #8 for seven races.

2010 – Jamie McMurray returns to the team, replacing Truex, and wins two of the four crown jewels of the schedule, the Daytona 500 and Brickyard 400, on the way to three wins on the season. Montoya also scores a win at Watkins Glen.

2014 – During the offseason, Teresa Earnhardt leaves the organization and it is renamed back to Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates. Rookie Kyle Larson joins the team and wins Rookie of the Year.

2015 – During the season, Rob Kauffman, majority owner of Michael Waltrip Racing (MWR), purchased a stake in the team. The original idea was to merge MWR into the CGR creating a four car team, but those plans were scrapped and the team stayed a two car operation. Kauffman instead convinced NASCAR to create charters for teams existing in 2015. With his two teams getting charters, Kauffman was able to sell them for a premium and pad his pocketbook, all while setting the sport back 20 years.

2016 – Larson finally breaks through for career win number one.

Current Owners:

  • Chip Ganassi
  • Felix Sabates
  • Rob Kauffman

Former Owners:

  • Teresa Earnhardt

Formally known as:

  • Chip Ganassi Racing 2001-2008
  • Earnhardt Ganassi Racing 2009-2013

Chip Ganassi Racing Current Stats

PlayerStartPoleWinTop-5Top-10DNFLaps CompLead Lap FinLaps LedRaces LedDNQWD
usaJamie McMurray35002859532169500
usaKyle Larson3530121949501287371000

All Time Stats

DriverStartsPolesWinsTop5sTop10sDNFsLaps CompLead LapLaps LedRaces LedDNQWD
Jamie McMurray426105511324312021227614679000
Juan Pablo Montoya253922459287217213311246200
Sterling Marlin174142457294877310414446300
Kyle Larson167754275214601011722815300
Casey Mears144206261839609592602300
Reed Sorenson108105131429117481401810
David Stremme75000315208353011700
Martin Truex Jr36301651013320184900
Jimmy Spencer3400267968311174320
Jason Leffler30100187983715350
Dario Franchitti1000002278501121
Scott Pruett1000351999813310
Aric Almirola700002217610000
Mike Bliss10000050010000
Dorsey Schroeder10000011210000
Regan Smith10000050010000
Jeremy Mayfield10000039400000
Ken Schrader000000010
Bryan Clauson000000030