Hendrick Motorsports


Team overview


  • Rick Hendrick forms All-Star Racing
  • Original plans had Richard Petty driving and music Business mogul C.K. Spurlock involved
  • Those plans fell apart and Geoff Bodine was hired to drive the number 5


  • Dick Brooks makes a one off run with the team


  • Tim Richmond joins the team to make it a two car organization in the number 25
  • Brett Bodine makes a one off run with the team


  • Three time champion Darrell Waltrip signs up to drive the 17 entry
  • Health issues push Richmond on the shelf for the first half of the season, Benny Parsons is hired to drive the number 35 entry while the 25 is saved for Richmond
  • Richmond returns for eight races, winning two, but resigns from the team as he continued to battle illness
  • Jim Fitzgerald and owner Rick Hendrick each run a race


  • Ken Schrader is brought in to replace Richmond and Parsons in the 25
  • Rob Moroso, Sarel van der Merwe and Hendrick each run a race for the team


  • Bobby Hamilton, Greg Sacks, Tommy Ellis, and Tommy Kendall each run a single race for the team


  • Bodine is replaced by Ricky Rudd in the number 5 car
  • Waltrip is injured in a wreck at Daytona, Jimmy Horton, Sarel van der Merwe, and Greg Sacks fill in
  • Hendrick forms a partnership with Paul Newman to create Newman-Hendrick Racing with Sacks and Stan Barrett running select races
  • Hut Stricklin also makes a start for the team


  • Waltrip departs the organization to form his own team
  • Team cuts down to two cars and does not run any additional entries during the year


  • Jeff Gordon is signed and makes his debut in the final race of the season


  • Al Unser Jr is signed to run the Daytona 500
  • Buddy Baker is given the opportunity to run a race as pay back for mentoring Gordon; he fails to qualify
  • Gordon wins Rookie of the Year


  • Rudd leaves to form his own team, Terry Labonte is brought in to replace him


  • Gordon captures the organization’s first championship
  • Jack Sprague fails to qualify for a race in a fourth entry


  • Labonte bests Gordon for the championship
  • Sprague makes two races for the team in a fourth entry


  • Schrader leaves and is replaced by Ricky Craven
  • Injuries to Craven open the door for Sprague and Todd Bodine to fill in
  • Gordon wins his second title and team’s third in a row


  • injuries again sideline Craven, he is replaced by Randy LaJoie and Wally Dallenbach Jr
  • Gordon cruises to his third title and the team’s fourth in a row


  • Craven leaves the team and is replaced by Dallenbach


  • Dallenbach is replaced by Jerry Nadeau
  • Injuries sideline Labonte for two races and he is replaced by Todd Bodine and Ron Hornaday Jr


  • Jimmie Johnson is signed and runs a few races in preperation for his rookie season
  • Gordon captures his fourth title and the team’s fifth


  • Nadeau is released mid-year and replaced by Joe Nemechek
  • Sprague runs a handful of races for the team in a fourth entry


  • Nemechek is released prior to the end of season, he is replaced by David Green
  • Brian Vickers runs select races preparing for his rookie year the next season
  • Kyle Busch attempts, but fails, to qualify for an event


  • Busch runs select races in preparation for his rookie year the next season


  • Busch replaces Labonte, who runs a partial schedule in a fifth entry for the team


  • Labonte runs another partial schedule in a fifth entry
  • Johnson wins his first championship, the sixth for the team


  • Vickers is replaced with Casey Mears
  • Johnson wins his second championship, the seventh for the team



  • Mark Martin replaces Mears
  • Keselowski runs a few races in a fifth entry
  • Johnson wins his fourth championship, the ninth for the team


  • Johnson wins his fifth championship, the tenth for the team



  • Johnson wins his sixth championship, the eleventh for the team


  • Chase Elliott runs a few races in preparation for his first full season in 2016


  • Gordon retires and is replaced by Elliott
  • Earnhardt is injured and is replaced by Alex Bowman and Gordon
  • Johnson wins his seventh championship, the twelve for the team


  • Earnhardt retires and is replaced by Bowman
  • Kahne is replaced by William Byron
Team statistics 1984-2017
DriverStartsPolesWinsTop5sTop10sDNFsLaps CompLead LapLaps LedRaces LedDNQWD
Jeff Gordon80581933254779923122358524936487
Jimmie Johnson57935832223415516530444118663330
Terry Labonte3877126412553111712179307098
Dale Earnhardt Jr340897313926967022452748110
Ken Schrader267174581274479339104206210210
Kasey Kahne2165635732460671138128448
Geoff Bodine1742274980465104254437098
Ricky Rudd117443564163582845107236
Kyle Busch11424305116310967415705031
Brian Vickers11341102314309245753927
Darrell Waltrip11029356093553243198557
Mark Martin1081052342103084878102842
Jerry Nadeau810171620224452958919
Chase Elliott773022387218945591828
Casey Mears72116167200934012414
Joe Nemechek5701581514492163758
Wally Dallenbach Jr50001981419913266
Ricky Craven381048796581629811
Tim Richmond37991621497431711672701
Benny Parsons2900691269755879
Greg Sacks171024639504107420
Alex Bowman1010031247072002
Brad Keselowski900010258441120
Randy LaJoie9001332750200
Jack Sprague600003133602140
David Green20000130700020
Jimmy Horton200000342000
Regan Smith200011328100
Rick Hendrick200001169000
Todd Bodine200000443091
Al Unser Jr100001157000
Bobby Hamilton100001215051
Brett Bodine100000394000
Dick Brooks100010393000
Hut Stricklin10000182000
Jim Fitzgerald10000093000
Rob Moroso100000331000
Ron Hornaday Jr10000090100
Sarel van der Merwe1000017700010
Stan Barrett10000074100
Tommy Kendall10000179011
Buddy Baker000000000010
Tommy Ellis000000000010

Hendrick Motorsports Current Stats

PlayerStartPoleWinTop-5Top-10DNFLaps CompLead Lap FinLaps LedRaces LedDNQWD
usaJimmie Johnson1500262428092100
usaAlex Bowman15101404543865300
usaWilliam Byron15000134279531400
usaChase Elliott1500372437598200