Bill Elliott

usa United States
Full Name
William Clyde Elliott
Dawsonville, GA
Date of Birth
HoF Class
First Year
Last Year

05/21/2014Bill Elliott is named inductee to the NASCAR Hall of Fame in 2015. (Press Release)

02/05/2009 – Motorcraft will sponsor Bill Elliott and the #21 Wood Brothers Racing Ford in nine events in 2009. (NASCAR Scene)

12/11/2008Wood Brothers Racing will attempt 12 races in 2009 with Bill Elliott as driver of the #21 Ford. (NASCAR Scene)

08/07/2008 – David Hyder has been named crew chief for Bill Elliott and the #21 Wood Brothers Racing Ford. (NASCAR Scene)

04/03/2008 – Mike Smith served as crew chief of the #21 Wood Brothers Racing Ford at Martinsville with driver Bill Elliott. Smith took over for Gene Nead and it is undetermined if he will continue into the future. (NASCAR Scene)

03/27/2008Wood Brothers Racing has released Gene Nead as crew chief of the #21 Ford driven by Bill Elliott (NASCAR Scene)

03/20/2008 – Jeff Green will attempt to qualify the #21 Wood Brothers Racing Ford at Bristol. Regular driver Bill Elliott is due back March 30th when the team attempts the race at Martinsville. (NASCAR Scene)

05/17/2003Bill Elliott breaks three bones in his left foot after a practice crash at Charlotte in the #9 Evernham Motorsports Dodge

08/26/2000 – Driver Bill Elliott suffered a broken kneecap in an accident at his house on 8/22. He will not drive in the weekend’s event at Bristol. (Press Release)

03/10/2000Bill Elliott has been named driver of the #9 Evernham Motorsports Dodge starting in 2001 (

05/05/1999 – Ernie Elliott has been named interim crew chief for Bill Elliott and the #94 Bill Elliott Racing Ford effective immediately

02/17/1999 – NASCAR has fined Joe Garone, crew chief for Bill Elliott and the #94 Bill Elliott Racing Ford, $2,000 for unapproved exhaust pipes (Press Release)

04/28/1996Bill Elliott suffers a broken leg after a crash during the race at Talladega

Cup Series

SeasonTeamStartsPolesWinsTop5sTop10sLaps CompLaps LedRaces LedDNFDNQWD
1976Elliott Racing4000041900400
1976Champion Racing4000062800200
1977Elliott Racing100002208200510
1978Elliott Racing100005227800300
1979Elliott Racing80003150122210
1979Hamby Motorsports50012182861000
1980Elliott Racing110004210644400
1981Elliott Racing1310172777333500
1982Melling Racing21108955401519600
1983Melling Racing30011222953617315300
1984Melling Racing30431324984857017300
1985Melling Racing28111116188724192019300
1986Melling Racing2942816854951115600
1987Melling Racing298616208902139922500
1988Melling Racing296615229647159820100
1989Melling Racing2923814903738011400
1990Melling Racing292112169349118513200
1991Melling Racing292161290202036200
1992Junior Johnson & Associates292514179115127318200
1993Junior Johnson & Associates30206159329144300
1994Junior Johnson & Associates31116129172628500
1995Bill Elliott Racing312041193491238300
1996Bill Elliott Racing24000674391087200
1997Bill Elliott Racing3210514961044211300
1998Bill Elliott Racing3200058865388700
1999Bill Elliott Racing3400129764143400
2000Bill Elliott Racing32003786361118800
2001Richard Petty Motorsports36215999151719200
2002Richard Petty Motorsports36426131035227513400
2003Richard Petty Motorsports36019121010760012200
2004Richard Petty Motorsports30001700261100
2004Bill Elliott Racing3000073200000
2005Richard Petty Motorsports900002102131300
2006Michael Waltrip Racing50000122400000
2006John Carter Racing3000072100110
2006Richard Petty Motorsports100009000000
2006Team Red Bull100000223811110
2006MB2 Motorsports1000020311000
2007Front Row Motorsports200000536454210
2007Wood Brothers Racing200000536454200
2008Wood Brothers Racing200000651711030
2009Wood Brothers Racing120000291100200
2010Wood Brothers Racing120000317511100
2010Latitude 43 Motorsports1000014000100
2011Phoenix Racing40000127200000
2011Whitney Motorsports1000018800000
2012Turner Scott Motorsports1000012300100
2012NEMCO Motorsports100003700110