Dale Earnhardt Jr

usa United States
Full Name
Ralph Dale Earnhardt Jr
Kannapolis, NC
Date of Birth
First Year
Last Year


Dale Earnhardt Jr is a retired American stock car racing driver. He last ran in the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series in 2017. Currently he works as an announcer for NBC Sports. Earnhardt is is son of 7-time NASCAR Cup Series champion Dale Earnhardt.

His family has a rich racing heritage, as his grandfather Ralph Earnhardt, borther Kerry Earnhardt, and nephew Jeffrey Earnhardt have all made Cup Series starts. His grandfather on his mother’s side is former team owner Robert Gee, his uncle is former crew chief Tony Eury, and his cousin is crew chief Tony Eury Jr.

He began his NASCAR career running for his father’s team, Dale Earnhardt Inc. After a few starts in 1996 and 1997 in the NASCAR Xfinity Series, Earnhardt ran full-time in 1998 and 1999, picking up the championship in each year and was voted Most Popular Driver in 1998.

In 2000, he and his team graduated to the Cup Series, where he not only won twice, but won the All Star Race held at the Charlotte Motor Speedway. His best season was in 2003 when he placed third in the final standings. The next season he won six times, which including the Daytona 500.

After the 2007 season he moved to Hendrick Motorsports, where he spent the remainder of his 19 year career. His best season at Hendrick coming in 2013, where he finished fifth in the final standings. During his tenure with Hendrick, he won his second Daytona Clash in 2008 (the first in 2003) and his second Daytona 500 in 2014.

Concussion issues caused him to miss two races in 2012 and half of the season in 2016, culminating in his retirement following the 2017 season. He was named Most Popular Driver in the Cup Series 15 times (2003-2017).


09/01/2011 – Earnhardt signs a 5-year contract extension through the 2017 season with Hendrick Motorsports

11/23/2010 – Steve Letarte is named Earnhardt’s crew chief for 2011

08/14/2007Hendrick Motorsports is unable to acquire the number 8 from Dale Earnhardt Inc

06/13/2007 – Earnhardt signs a five year deal to join Hendrick Motorsports starting in 2008

05/10/2007 – Earnhardt announces he will not return to Dale Earnhardt Inc in 2008

10/03/2004 – Earnhardt has been fined $10,000 and docks 25 driver points after saying an expletive on live TV during a post-race interview

Cup Series

SeasonTeamStartsPolesWinsTop5sTop10sLaps CompLaps LedRaces LedDNFDNQWD
1999Dale Earnhardt Inc50001136311100
2000Dale Earnhardt Inc342235964542610700
2001Dale Earnhardt Inc36239151030276716400
2002Dale Earnhardt Inc3622111610344106822300
2003Dale Earnhardt Inc3602132110505104624400
2004Dale Earnhardt Inc3606162110588113119400
2005Dale Earnhardt Inc360171396081697600
2006Dale Earnhardt Inc360110171035844418300
2007Dale Earnhardt Inc36107121001443317900
2008Hendrick Motorsports361110161057489622200
2009Hendrick Motorsports360025101411467500
2010Hendrick Motorsports361038107101857000
2011Hendrick Motorsports361041210570529200
2012Hendrick Motorsports34111020981735813000
2013Hendrick Motorsports362010221025634215300
2014Hendrick Motorsports36041220981838317200
2015Hendrick Motorsports36031622102082869100
2016Hendrick Motorsports1800564861533400
2017Hendrick Motorsports3620189747478700