Dale Jarrett

usa United States
Full Name
Dale Arnold Jarrett
Hickory, NC
Date of Birth
First Year
Last Year


Dale Jarrett is a retired American stock car driver. He is son of two time NASCAR Cup Series champion Ned Jarrett, brother of former driver and broadcaster Glenn Jarrett, and father of Jason Jarrett. Currently Jarrett works as a racing commentator for NBC Sports.

Working his way up through the NASCAR Xfinity Series, Jarrett finally got his break sharing a ride with Cale Yarborough in 1989. The following year he replaced an injured Neil Bonnett at Wood Brother Racing, where he would score his first career win the next year at Michigan International Speedway.

In 1992, he moved to the new Joe Gibbs Racing team and won the 1993 Daytona 500. After three season, he moved to Robert Yates Racing (RYR) in 1995 to replace an injured Ernie Irvan in the number 28 Ford.

The next year, RYR expanded to two cars, putting Jarrett in the number 88 Ford and that’s when his career really took off. With RYR, he would win the Daytona 500 two more times (1996 and 2000), the Brickyard 400 twice (1996 and 1999) the World 600 (1996), and the 1999 Cup Series championship. In addition, the won the Daytona Clash race three times (1996, 2000, and 2004).

After 12 season with the Yates team, Jarrett would move to Michael Waltrip Racing in 2007, where the team struggled to not only make races, but finish them. After five races in 2008, Jarrett retired to join the ESPN NASCAR broadcast team.

In 2004 he was named the USG Person of the Year and was inducted into the NASCAR Hall of Fame in 2014.


05/22/2013 – Jarrett is named an inductee to the NASCAR Hall of Fame in 2014

05/19/2006 – Jarrett signs on to drive for Michael Waltrip Racing starting in 2007

Cup Series

SeasonTeamStartsPolesWinsTop5sTop10sLaps CompLaps LedRaces LedDNFDNQWD
1984Zervakis Racing2000064100100
1984Jimmy Means Racing1000015500000
1986Curb Racing100006900100
1987Freelander Motorsports2400024788001100
1988Yarborough Burdette Racing190001536141800
1988Ellington Racing80000100411410
1988Ralph Ball1000016400100
1988Arrington Racing100002700100
1989Yarborough Burdette Racing29002577989931100
1990Wood Brothers Racing2400176801734900
1991Wood Brothers Racing2901387767477900
1992Joe Gibbs Racing29002885861036500
1993Joe Gibbs Racing30011318914926315500
1994Joe Gibbs Racing3001498410558710
1995Yates Racing311191486713248600
1996Yates Racing31241721930775520300
1997Yates Racing322720239769208322100
1998Yates Racing33231922947581222300
1999Yates Racing340424299900106122100
2000Yates Racing34321524975033315200
2001Yates Racing364412191074451117400
2002Yates Racing36121018988144015500
2003Yates Racing3601179760496800
2004Yates Racing360061410260257300
2005Yates Racing3611471058943200
2006Yates Racing360014985586500
2007Michael Waltrip Racing2400005771008120
2008Michael Waltrip Racing50000149631100