Dave Blaney

usa United States
Full Name
David Lewis Blaney
Hartford, OH
Date of Birth
First Year
Last Year


Dave Blaney is a retired American stock car racing driver. He is the father of current NASCAR Cup Series driver Ryan Blaney and brother of sprint car driver Dale Blaney.

Before NASCAR, Blaney had a successful sprint car career, which he still makes the occasional start. He won the 1984 USAC Silver Crown championship and the was the 1995 World of Outlaws champion.

Blaney’s start in NASCAR actually came in 1992 at Rockingham Speedway. It wouldn’t be until six years later that he came to NASCAR full-time, running with Bill Davis Racing in the Xfinity Series. In 2000, his team moved up to the Cup Series, where he would run the next two seasons.

For the 2002 season, Blaney moved to Jasper Motorsports and after two season he was a free agent once again. In 2004 he drove for Bill Davis Racing, Ultra Motorsports, Richard Childress Racing, and Roush Fenway Racing. Childress picked him up for 2005, but let him go after one season. Blaney would return to Davis’ team to run again from 2006-2008.

During the course of the rest of Blaney’s career, he drove for Prism Motorsports, Front Row Motorsports, Germain Racing, Max Q Motorsports, Randy Humphrey Racing and Tommy Baldwin Racing. With Baldwin, Blaney ran three full-time seasons, before running select events in 2014 to finish his career.



Cup Series

SeasonTeamStartsPolesWinsTop5sTop10sLaps CompLaps LedRaces LedDNFDNQWD
1992Hover Motorsports1000037100110
1999Bill Davis Racing5000099600200
2000Bill Davis Racing330002832941710
2001Bill Davis Racing36000610053873600
2002Jasper Motorsports36000510305659300
2003Jasper Motorsports3610149883113400
2004Richard Childress Racing80000141343100
2004Bill Davis Racing60000168200200
2004Roush Fenway Racing1000021800100
2004Ultra Motorsports1000012300100
2005Richard Childress Racing36000210212244200
2006Bill Davis Racing3600121048094200
2007Bill Davis Racing3310148742428830
2008Bill Davis Racing350002998495710
2009Phil Parsons Racing3000001130322940
2010Phil Parsons Racing170000906421650
2010Tommy Baldwin Racing60000145800310
2010Front Row Motorsports60000134300200
2011Tommy Baldwin Racing3400119400286710
2011Germain Racing10000200100
2012Tommy Baldwin Racing3300006578721800
2012Max Q Motorsports100002900100
2013Tommy Baldwin Racing350000951842500
2014Randy Humphrey Racing4000086200280
2014Tommy Baldwin Racing3000039000100